Let’s Get Ready To Rumble….

Well time to scratch off another goal off my lifetime list of goals.  A couple of weekends ago I was able to enjoy a great time with my parents but more importantly with my Dad.  I was able to take him to a professional boxing match, where Manny Pacquiao defeated Joshua Clottey here in Dallas, TX.

Joshua Clottey of Ghana (L) exchanges blows with Manny Pacquiao of the Philippines (R) during their World Boxing Organization (WBO) welterweight title fight at Cowboys Stadium in Dallas, Texas, on March 13. Filipino superstar Pacquiao easily defeated Clottey by unanimous 12-round decision to retain his WBO welterweight title.

Ever since I could remember when I was young anytime that it would be a weekend and my dad would have over his friends to watch boxing matches, whether it’d be a big name fight for someone like Sugar Ray Leonard or even someone who was just up and coming.  I recall boxing always being a sport that my dad and his friends would be so intrigued and just followed very closely.  So much that even as elementary age I recall my dad and his best friend getting together and his friend having bought some boxing gloves.  At first I was like oh this will be cool, I’ll get to see my dad do what he loves doing and just kinda mock fight his best friends just how the guys on TV doing it.  Well much to my surprise the 2 sets of gloves were not for them at all, they were actually for me and his friend’s son and they wanted us to go after it.  At first I was like any kid not wanting to do what his dad was telling him to do, of course it was fun to watch boxing on tv on friday and saturday nights but now that they wanted me to throw some jabs that’s a whole different story.  But oh well, I figured it’s not like this guy is going to kick my ass in front of my Dad.  So we tied on our gloves and we were off, did I mention that my dad’s friends’ son was older than me and was already in junior high.  Yeah so we messed around and he threw some punches and I threw some punches but well neither one of us were fighters or knew what we were doing so that ended very quickly with no one getting hurt or should I rephrase that by saying, “With me not getting hurt”.

Monico Perez & Raymundo Perez

So boxing was something that was a shared interest between my father and I, we watched all of the big fights. We would follow different fighters and see who they would be fighting next and their stats.  There was always my favorite as a child Pipino Cuevas, something about him being a slugger type of fighter that I enjoyed not to mention that he had a funny first name.  Then there was  Sugar Ray Leonard vs. Tommie Hearns, I remember watching this fight over and over and over since my dad and his friend had recorded it when it was first played on PPV.  But it was and I think still is a great boxing fight for everyone to watch.  Then there was Marvin Hagler, Hector “Macho” Camacho, Evander Holyfield, Oscar De La Hoya, Mike Tyson, which I had an opportunity to meet in person in Phoenix but that’s another story.  eventually in the later years came the rising of one of the best boxers I’ve seen and hope to one day meet, Julio Cesar Chavez.  So boxing was definitely something that was admired and sought after by my father.  We would watch all of the Rocky movies together and even to this day anytime that Rocky is shown on TV it reminds me of listening to, Eye of the Tiger and getting up and start boxing with my dad as he would put his hands up and we’d pretend like he was my trainer and I would be throwing punches and moving around.

So for me to be able to personally take him to a major boxing event was such a proud moment in my life.  I had always set certain goals for myself and that was definitely one of them.  To see him walk into the very impressive Dallas Cowboys Stadium and just see the lights, the ring, the cameras.  Hear Michael Buffer say those magic words that are now trademarked by him and has earned him an excess of over 400 million in licensing alone, “Let’s Get Ready to Rumble”.  It was all just very exciting and fun to watch my dad experience that.  But then to hear as Manny Pacquiao came out to the ring to that famous song, Eye of the Tiger was just such an amazing experience.  I doubt that my dad knew that it meant so much to me, to share that experience with him.  But I sure am glad that I did and I hope that everyone gets to fulfill all of their craziest goals in life.  I have learned from surrounding myself with successful people,  that life is very short and we can’t freeze it or slow it down or even stop it at times when we wish we could.  One of the strongest influences I have had in my life is Marc Accetta, when I first started working with Marc I thought we would have a traditional working relationship.  That was far from being true, I have learned to enjoy life and not take it for granted mainly from Marc, together we have done many things that never in my life I could’ve imagined of ever doing.  For that main reason I am a strong believer in creating memories with loved ones that just make all the struggles and sacrifices and all of the endless amounts of hours put behind work, worthwhile.  I hope that you are able to experience the joys that there are in life, for as small or as big as they might be.

One thought on “Let’s Get Ready To Rumble….

Leave a Reply

