His Little Princess…

To all my friends out there, I just wanted to share a message with you that unfortunately has broken my heart. Some of you might know my friends Jaime Soto and wife Janell Johnson Soto, were expecting their first newborn to bless their family right around this time.

Gabrielle Marie Soto was born on Thursday, June 24, 2010, at 3:31 p.m., at St. David’s Hospital in Austin, Texas, and passed at 8:46 p.m. that evening.

This is an unfortunate incident that has left not only them in disbelief and with their hearts broken but also has left many family members and friends with sorrow in their hearts and lives. For those of you that don’t know Jaime Soto, is my girlfriend’s younger brother and I know that Melinda was looking forward to and will be an amazing aunt.

I ask you to please keep them and their family in your thoughts and prayers as they will be laying her body to rest this week in Austin, TX. If you’d like to leave them some words of encouragement or a prayer for them to be strong during these difficult times.

Please do so by clicking this link. Hyperlink to Memorial Guestbook

They’ve also created a FaceBook Page that you can join and share your thoughts with the family and friends. Click HERE. Hyperlink to Gabby Soto Facebook Guestbook

We are also trying to help remember Gabby’s time here on this earth with a COMMERATIVE BRICK TO BE LAYED IN HER REMEMBRANCE ALONG TOWN LAKE/LADY BIRD LAKE IN AUSTIN, TX.  If you’d like to donate and help out click on this link.


Thank you for taking the time out and allowing me to share these sites with you in hopes that it can bring some sort of comfort to two amazing people who were not ready to let their little angel go to heaven yet.

I hope that Jaime does not mind me sharing this, but here is a special note he wrote about his becoming a father and all the excitement, fear, happiness and love that comes along with it.

So I’m laying awake in bed as Janell fades in and out of sleep and Bella snores loudly between us, and I can’t stop thinking about our little girl that will be here any day now. I figured I’d write/type my thoughts so I can look back at this and remember all the feelings that I’m experiencing right now and maybe even laugh at how naive and clueless I am. I don’t normally like to broadcast my thoughts and feelings out to the world via Facebook, so that’s why I put this in a note so those that care can read it, and those that don’t can just ignore it.

I’m wide awake and I’m just laying here thinking about our baby like many other nights over the last nine months. I wonder what she looks like and wonder about the person that she’ll become. I wonder if she’ll have her mother’s beautiful blue eyes. Or her fun-loving spirit, and strong will (sounds better than stubbornness, right?). I wonder if she’ll be as selfless and caring as both of her grandmothers. I wonder if she’ll be terrified of drive-thru car washes like her father was when he was a child.

I also wonder about how ready I am for this huge change. Am I going to be as good a father as my dad was/is? Am I really going to be as good a father as I say and think I am going to be? I’ve done a lot to prepare and I really feel that I am about as ready as I can be as a first time dad (this is probably where I’ll laugh when I read this in a few months). I have a few doubts about myself living up to my own expectations, but one thing that gives me confidence is having the advantage of having my own wonderful, loving parents as an example. I probably complained a lot growing up and didn’t appreciate them as much as I should have, but they have always given me enormous amounts of love and support. And knowing how much that helped me growing up, I will always try to remember to do the same for my own children. I know there’s a whole lot more to it than that, but it definitely helps to have a good foundation.

I also think about my wife during these sleepless nights. I’ve always known Janell was an amazing person, and although I’ve never taken her for granted, these last nine months have really reminded me of that. In fact, they’ve shown me that’s she’s even more amazing than I knew. She’s really been great through all of this. Her OCD-like planning has been helpful seeing as there are an insane amount of things that you need to buy and get ready before the baby is born. And even on some of her most uncomfortable days we managed to get out and have a fun time even though I’m sure she would have much rather just stayed in bed. She’s gone 9 months without a real drink, and has carried our daughter in her belly, and even after all that she still manages to look as radiant as the day I met her.

I’d like to thank all of you who have emailed me and given me feedback on various books that I can share with Jaime and Janell and if you have any other words, books, etc that can help…we’d appreciate it.

One thought on “His Little Princess…

  1. you have what it takes jaime, to be a great dad!! you will , and without knowing, already were! you and janell will make the best parents!

    Like

Leave a Reply

