“To Yelp or Not To Yelp?”…That is the Question!

With Social Media sites becoming more and more popular, it’s great when you discover an awesome one that is easy to use and convenient.  I had heard about “Yelp” a couple of different times, but didn’t really understand how to use it or what it was for.  I figured it was just another site that you could use where people would give businesses stars based on their popularity or that business could purchase ads and get promoted. Well it’s more than that.

A couple of weeks when we were on our way back to Texas from LA., we were out on IH-10 around San Bernardino area and I was craving some Mexican food…but not On The Border, not anything commercial.  I was looking for something home cooked.  So my girlfriend said let me look for something on Yelp.  I said OK but didn’t know how it worked, within less than 3 minutes she had like 3 or 4 locations and was reading me off comments that people had recently posted from their visit there.  I was like WOW, that’s pretty cool.  We chose one location in Pomona, CA called Lily’s Tacos!  It had great reviews, said that the food was good home cooked tacos and burritos.  Within 10 minutes we were at the location and ordering food.  It was awesome.  I would have to say that this has been some of the greatest mexican food that I’ve had.  Now I am not writing this blog to rant and rave about this place and so everyone can stop by there while they’re in Pomona or traveling on the IH10…although I would strongly recommend this place and yes they are that good!

But I think that everyone should Yelp, if not to give your feedback if you find something good that you recommend for others but also to help out those smaller restaurants that are possibly barely getting started or don’t have the money to buy a radio ad, or newspaper ad and need the exposure to make it.  I think it’s kinda like free advertisement for those businesses that don’t have a lot of money to put back into their establishments but still provide high quality and great service.

I am now committing to Yelping whenever I get a chance to…and hope that you do the same!

Here is my YELP profile….If you want to connect! www.monicoperez.yelp.com

One thought on ““To Yelp or Not To Yelp?”…That is the Question!

  1. Pingback: Deal Grater » $10 for $20 of Authentic Arabic Cuisine in 2 Locations

Leave a Reply

