Happy 4,500 calorie a plate Day Everyone….Read THIS!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone….the MAIN thing I am thankful for this Thanksgiving is my health! I’ve been going back and forth on my weight and also on my eating habits between that of good, not so good and HOLY GUACAMOLE Batman.  However about a month ago I decide to get serious and just do the work and just STOP having excuses, I do after all work with a guy that teaches people how to not buy people’s excuses I figured I’d apply those to myself.  I started eating healthier, eliminating certain high fat foods and adding Spirulina, and Whey Protein to my daily diet and it’s been awesome, just with those basic changes I’ve lost about 15lbs and have gone down a pant size probably two but come on no one needs to see me in Cowboy tight Wranglers! LOL!  So now I am always looking out for other tips to help people out that perhaps might be struggling like myself and I came across this great Thanksgiving article from Men’s Health, “Eat This, Not That” section in regards to what holiday food swaps you’d want to do…so enjoy this article and Happy Feasting everyone!

TOP SWAPS FOR THANKSGIVING!

According to the Calorie Control Council, the average American will consume 4,500 calories and 229 grams of fat on Thanksgiving day, a feat worthy of competitive eating accolades on any other day. But that doesn’t mean you can’t stuff your face without testing the fortitude of your new designer jeans. We imagine you’ll want turkey. Cranberry sauce. Potatoes, sure. Gravy. Maybe some veggies on the side. Oh, and pie? Yeah, go for it! But just by making a couple of smart at-the-table swaps you could eat to your heart’s content and still take in 700 fewer calories than you did last year. Now that’s something to be thankful for!
Dark turkey meat (4 0z) with jellied cranberry sauce (1/2-inch slice)
410 calories
10 g fat
(4 g satured)
320 mg sodium

Dark meat is about twice as fatty as white meat. Homemade cranberry sauce cuts the sugar by a considerable amount.

Eat This Instead!
Turkey breast (4 oz) with homemade cranberry sauce (2 Tbsp)
195 calories
4 g fat
265 mg sodium

 

Stuffing (1/2 cup)

175 calories
14 g fat
(6 g saturated)
420 mg sodium

Stuffing is nothing more than a pile of croutons moistened with fat and loaded with sodium. Double this number if it was cooked inside the bird. A fresh grean bean casserole with sautéed onions is a much healthier alternative—just make sure you ditch the cream of mushroom soup.

Green bean casserole (1/2)
100 calories
6 g fat (1 g saturated)
300 mg sodium
 

Pecan pie (1 medium slice, 1/6 pie)

450 calories
21 g fat (4 g saturated)
70 g sugars

The healthy fat from the pecans is not enough to justify the extra load of corn syrup calories. In the pantheon of pies, pumpkin ranks among one of the lower-calorie slices.

Eat This Instead!

Pumpkin pie with low-fat whipped cream (1 medium slice, 1/6 pie)
335 calories
15 g fat (6.5 g saturated)
38 g sugars
 

So there you have it, they had several other comparisons in various foods but let’s face it…I didn’t want to bum everyone out and for those of you that know me…I’ll be applying some of these to this years Thanksgiving Feast but not all…I still love my mom’s cooking and my girlfriend’s mom’s cooking so I’ll be doing my share of walking around the block.

So enjoy your Thanksgiving 2011, remember that Life is Short and we should all be thankful for the UP’s and Down’s in life, for they always allow us to learn and grow! Thanks for reading and Happy Thanksgiving!

P.S. If you have any healthy recipes you’d like to share or some health tips you have…please do so! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

