How To Think Positive, Stay Focused, And Motivated!

Over the past couple of months, several people have come up to me and asked how are you doing it to stay in a great mood or how do you stay so positive despite, life’s challenges or whenever something negative happens to us that we cannot control.  I just tell them that I don’t let it soak into my mind or affect my daily life, yes life does throw it’s curve balls, just because I work with for a Life Success Coach like Marc Accetta.  It doesn’t give me a pass to not have anything bad happen to me.  While I am in Crete, Athens right now we just finished going through a section of our training seminar that focuses on people’s reactions.

One quote sums it up…“LIFE IS 10% WHAT HAPPENS TO YOU AND 90% HOW YOU RESPOND TO WHAT HAPPENS TO YOU…

Do you wish that you could stay focused, motivated and keep a positive attitude at all time?

You know, that feeling that you get and feel when have just come out of a great seminar, read a fantastic book, listened to a great audio piece from your favorite speaker or watched an inspiring movie like ROCKY, MIRACLE or RUDY. You feel like you can climb any mountain, swim any sea and be invincible. After a couple of days or even hours that feeling fades and eventually melts away until the reality of life gets in the way. That’s when you tell yourself to think positive despite the challenges that life sends you.

Here’s a couple of things that I do that will boost your positive attitude, give you laser beamed focus on what’s important and allow you to live a better stress-free life.   I use these steps in improving my mindset and again it didn’t happen overnight, I still get frustrated, upset and sometimes just have to be in a bad mood but following these steps have definitely helped with not worrying or stressing over life as much as I used to.  If you can’t or do not want to do all the steps, pick and choose what works bests for you.  Remember any progress is progress!

Step1: Go on a 30 day Mental Detox. Don’t WATCH TV for 30 days. News, Negative soaps, gossip shows , Reality TV, etc. Garbage IN Garbage OUT.  I love watching movies, comedies, inspiring movies, documentaries anything that isn’t JUNK!

Step2: Don’t listen to the radio unless you are listening to great songs with positive lyrics and no radio host with negative opinions. With the popularity of Apps and online radio, I’ve come across an awesome station that is both online, they have an app and they are on the radio in virtually all major cities.  That is KLOVE they value themselves with playing only Positive & Encouraging Music.  Check them out online http://www.klove.com/

Step3: Read 15 – 30 minutes everyday at the start of each day from a uplifting book to boost your positive attitude, no trashy novels, The Bible, Think and Grow Rich, How to Win Friends and Influence People, Unlimited Power etc.  I’ve also found apps on Itunes that have great daily motivational quotes and or daily bible verses to start your day off on a positive note.

Step4: Exercise MORE, park further away and walk around the block. Walk instead of driving everywhere; walk up the stairs instead of taking the lift or escalator, better still if you can, join a gym & even more important GO TO IT!!!

Step5: Disassociation: spend less time or limited time with negative people instead of 3 hours give them 20 minutes of your time. A friend of mine said it best, “Change the People Around You or Change the People Around You!”

Step6: Expanded association, get around positive people, surround yourself with people that uplift you and support you.  I’ve always hung around people that have great personalities are positive & we get along.  One quick thing I think about whenever I am going to associate with someone is to think, could I talk with this person everyday of my life.

Step7: Cut out the online media, newspaper, magazines or disempowering and limiting information or any type of media that does not enhance your life.

Step8: Drink lots of water. If you are dehydrated it allows the nutrients to get in and release the toxins.

Step9: BE GRATEFUL, Reflecting 5 – 10 minutes focusing on what you are grateful for first thing in the morning is an amazing exercise that I’ve been practicing for many years now and trust me we all have many things to be grateful for, if you have your goals read them so that you can focus on what you want to have happen, what you are grateful for.

I guarantee that if you practice some of these steps your life will definitely change and you’ll be thinking positively and staying focused on thinking positively next time that life throws you a curve ball.  Thank you for reading and please let me know if you have any steps that you do that I perhaps haven’t listed in order to enhance your life.

 

Leave a Reply

